It’s looking like it will be a rainy weekend. While I have to be at class all day tomorrow (Saturday), I’m looking forward to a lazy, rainy afternoon on Sunday and playing with the kids. We’ll probably pull out our collection of games. I’m itching to play a round of our Maze game. We made it awhile ago and I really like how it is fun for all of us. Jaylene loves it, Jayden can participate (although somewhat randomly) and I’m not bored out of my mind.

game01

Materials:
4 sheets of 12×12 cardstock
decorative tape (you could draw lines with a pen)
10 thin wooden blocks per player
a marker/counter/pawn for each player

We divided the cardstock into grids based on the length of our blocks.

game02

The goal of the game is to get your pawn to the other side of the game board before your opponent. You can either move your pawn one square forward *or* put down a block during your turn. The rules are similar to this game.

What games do you like to play on a rainy day?