We were in depths of Taipei (fondly referred to by us as the “big city”) recently and I managed to make a stop at Daico. I’d heard the praises of this Japanese Dollar store many times and was thrilled to find out that there was one right here in Taiwan. How could there not be? Taiwan thrives on cuteness. It was fun, but I greatly preferred the JTS store right next door. I guess I’m more of a stationary girl than a cooking girl. Which is probably a good thing as I have a three foot square kitchen and no oven.

We didn’t leave empty handed though, I had to pick up these cute animal face cookie cutters:
face cutters I think it was the sweet face on the cardboard that was the clincher and helped it go into the basket. Of course it was handed over first to Jaylene the salesclerk who “beeped” it before gently storing it in the basket. Thankfully she’s patient with her mother who’s not used to “beeping” items before we reach the checkout.

Jaylene picked out these cute containers:
cute containers

I plan on putting raisins and other small goodies in them for the times she eats breakfast at kindergarten.

We picked up a few other items, but I’ll save those for another post. And just so you don’t think I’m completely lost in the kitchen, I’m off to cook a scrumptious chickpea spinach spaghetti sauce with whole wheat noodles.