You are currently browsing the daily archive for October 1, 2008.

We discovered a new challenge blog and tried out their current Think! challenge. They give you a list of materials and then a task to perform with them.

materials

Materials: 1 bag of marshmallows; 2 paper cups; 10 paperclips; 5 sticks of spaghetti; 1 inch of tape; 10 inches of string
Challenge: “Suspend” as many marshmallows as possible at least 1 inch above the table.

closeup

Jaylene suspended 54 marshmellows! The flowers might be a bit smaller than what other participants were using, but they were the only kind they had in the store.

Jaylene marshmellows

She looks a bit groggy in this picture because she stayed up a little later than usual to finish the project, and then got up early so that we could take a picture with some sunlight. 

Originally she poked holes in the top of the cup with the paper clips and was spearing the marshmellows on the spaghetti, but we thought that might not fit the suspension requirement so she switched to dangling the paperclips off the spaghetti.  She didn’t even use the tape or the string.  She thought the string was too short to be useful so dismissed it altogether.  It was interesting for me to observe her thought process during her creation. 

We’re looking forward to next week’s challenge.

One of the benefits of being home for three days during the typhoon was that I actually made something for my own creative enjoyment. I’ve done a lot of kid crafting these days and found there wasn’t much time, creativity or inspiration left over. My muse had abandoned me. I think she’s returned though. My cards are simple, but I like ’em. I hope you do too.

Boo Bat card

I made up the cute little vintage witchy girl diamond paper in photoshop, printed it out and used it as a focal point for the card. The bats are butterfly punches that I cut up, and that’s about it for any techniques.

I have a few more cards to share, I thought one a day for a while would be kinda fun. I also thought that it would be kinda fun to have a *giveaway*. I’ll draw names from kind commenters on *each* card I share, so the more cards you comment on, the greater your chances of winning are.  If you’re a family member, I’ll count each post as a double entry (yes, I’m begging my family to delurk! you can do it under a faux name if you so wish, just let me know that it’s you by email).

Don’t worry, that’s not the only thing I’ll be posting over the next few days.  What kinds of posts of mine do you enjoy the most though?  Let me know, you have influence!

Edited to add: The comments don’t have to be directly related to the card being posted, they can be about anything Halloweenish.

Archives

Top Clicks

  • None

Blog Stats

  • 272,367 hits
October 2008
M T W T F S S
 12345
6789101112
13141516171819
20212223242526
2728293031